Media @ McGill

Research Clusters

English

Media Governance
This cluster focuses on the broad structural framework in which the media operate in modern societies. Political and economic influences as well as social and cultural practices determine how well the media empower citizens and reflect the values that they are expected to sustain and support. Using a broad definition of ‘governance’, our research looks not only at legal and regulatory structures, but also at the role and impact of markets, technological change, social movements and user practices in shaping the global media environment. Led by Marc Raboy, the Beaverbrook Chair in Ethics, Media and Communications, this cluster promotes the study of media and communication policy issues as they influence democracy, cultural diversity and communication rights. In addition to a series of specific projects, we are driving the development of a global research network on media governance.

Media and Technology
Technology is a central feature of modern life, related intimately to various practices and settings of human communication. This cluster includes researchers and projects focused on this relationship. Communication technologies are investigated as social, cultural and political phenomena, using a broad range of theoretical and methodological approaches. Darin Barney, the Canada Research Chair in Technology and Citizenship and several other core faculty are involved in research projects in this area. These range from studies of the origins of sound reproduction technologies, to the use of new media to distribute cultural products and the role of media and communication technologies in rural communities.

Media and Culture
Contemporary culture, identity and social values are rooted in media forms and content. The mass media are powerful sites of cultural and political identification; they are also strategic sites for cultural and political mobilization. The mediatization of crime, to take but one example, has enormous impact on behaviour, attitudes, public debate and a range of social practices. In an age of globalization, media are also crucial to people’s sense of self and place – we examine this through the prism of diasporic communities, cultural difference and challenges to the traditional framework of multiculturalism. Finally, four of our core faculty members are involved in a major interdisciplinary research initiative comparing the role of media in three North American cultural capitals: Montreal, New York City and Mexico City.

Groupes de recherche

Français

Gouvernance des médias

Ce groupe se penche sur le vaste cadre structurel dans lequel évoluent les médias des sociétés modernes. Les influences politiques et économiques, ainsi que les pratiques sociales et culturelles déterminent si les médias réussissent à donner du pouvoir aux citoyens et s’ils reflètent les valeurs qu’on s’attend à les voir défendre. En utilisant une définition large du terme « gouvernance », nos recherches visent non seulement à analyser les structures légales et règlementaires, mais également le rôle des marchés, des changements technologiques, des mouvements sociaux et des usages, et leurs répercussions dans le façonnement de l’environnement global des médias. Sous la direction de Marc Raboy, de la Chaire Beaverbrook en éthique, média et communication, ce groupe de recherche encourage l’étude des enjeux liés aux politiques sur les médias et la communication quant à leur influence sur la démocratie, la diversité culturelle et les droits de la communication. Outre une série de projets spécifiques, le groupe dirige le développement d'un réseau international de recherche sur la gouvernance des médias.  

 

Médias et technologie

La technologie est au centre de la vie moderne. Elle est étroitement liée à une variété de situations et d’environnements associés aux communications humaines. Ce groupe réunit des chercheurs et des projets axés sur ces relations. Les technologies de la communication sont analysées en tant que phénomènes sociaux, culturels et politiques grâce à une grande variété d’approches théoriques et méthodologiques. Darin Barney, de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en technologie et citoyenneté, et plusieurs autres professeurs permanents participent à des projets de recherche dans ce domaine. Ces projets vont de l’étude de l’origine des technologies de reproduction du son jusqu’à l’utilisation des nouveaux médias dans la distribution des produits culturels et au rôle des médias et des technologies de la communication dans les communautés rurales.

 

Médias et culture

Culture, identité et valeurs sociales contemporaines sont enracinées dans des formes et des contenus médiatiques. Les médias de masse sont des lieux d’identification culturelle et politique puissants ; ils sont aussi des lieux stratégiques de mobilisation culturelle et politique. La médiatisation des actes criminels, pour ne prendre qu’un seul exemple, a une incidence énorme sur le comportement, les attitudes, les discussions et toute une gamme de pratiques sociales. À l’ère de la mondialisation, les médias sont également essentiels dans la prise de conscience du soi et du lieu ; nous examinons cela à travers le prisme des diasporas, des différences culturelles et des défis posés au multiculturalisme traditionnel. Finalement, quatre de nos professeurs permanents participent à une recherche interdisciplinaire très importante qui a pour but de comparer le rôle des médias dans trois capitales culturelles d’Amérique du Nord : Montréal, New York et Mexico.