Media @ McGill

About Us


Media@McGill is a hub of research, scholarship and public outreach on issues and controversies in media, technology and culture. The members of Media@McGill are primarily selected from the Department of Art History and Communication Studies at McGill University in Montreal. Academic direction of Media@McGill is provided by a Steering Committee comprised of:

Mary Hunter, Associate Professor, Art History (Director of Media@McGill, Steering Committee Chair)

Bobby Benedicto, Assistant Professor, Communication Studies (Steering Committee Member)

Bronwen E. Low, Associate Professor; Department of Integrated Studies in Education (Steering Committee Member)

Carrie Rentschler, Associate Professor, Communication Studies; William Dawson Scholar in Feminist Media Studies (Steering Committee Member: winter, 2018)

Will Straw, Professor, Communication Studies; James McGill Professor of Urban Media Studies (Steering Committee member)

Itzayana Gutierrez, PhD candidate, AHCS Student Representative (Steering Committee member)

Media@McGill’s activities are supported by McGill University and most notably by the Beaverbrook Fund for Media@McGill, created by a generous gift from the Beaverbrook Canadian Foundation.